Daily Archives: May 20, 2012

Spicy Chipotle Burritos

I’m finally back with some more recipes to share!

For the record, I HATE making enchiladas. I LOVE to eat them, but they are such a hassle to make. First the filling. Then the sauce. Then you assemble. Then you cook it in the oven. Ugh. Of course Aaron loves it when I cook Mexican food, but we usually just eat at our favorite Mexican restaurant when we want it. Why? Because it’s so cheap and way easier than making it at home.

So I hate cooking enchiladas, but that title up there says burritos, right? I’ve never attempted burritos at home, but I found this little recipe from Pearls, Handcuffs, and Happy Hour and decided to try and make some of them myself Housegirl Haley style. Aaron was thrilled, and so was I because it turned out to be so much easier than making enchiladas.

Ingredients

For filling:

2 cups brown rice (cooked according to package)

1 tbsp olive oil

2 cloves garlic (chopped)

1 chipotle pepper (from can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce) chopped

1 tbsp sauce (from can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce)

1 tsp chili powder

1 tbsp cumin

4 dashes cayenne pepper (red pepper)

1 can (15 oz.) pinto beans (drained and rinsed)

1 can (15 oz) black beans (drained and rinsed)

1/2 chicken breast (shredded) *optional

1/3 cup water

1/4 cup salsa

For burrito assembly:

Whole wheat burrito sized tortillas

shredded cheese

avocado (chopped)

green onions (chopped)

sour cream/plain greek yogurt

anything else that strikes your fancy

Directions:

Ok. When I see this many ingredients, I immediately get overwhelmed (that’s why I prefer to eat Mexican food at a restaurant), so I’m going to try to break this down how I actually did everything. Trust me. It wasn’t overwhelming at all when I was cooking. I also put chicken in the burrito mixture, which is completely optional. I usually keep shredded chicken in my fridge for salads and whatnot, so this was super easy for me to throw in. It was tasty, but will require more steps if you want it.

1. Cook chicken breast thoroughly (I boil mine).

2. Start cooking your brown rice according to package directions. (This should be about 10 minutes if you use instant rice. I like to think of it as a challenge: what all can I get done while my rice cooks.)

3. Try to chop everything that needs to be chopped for this recipe while the rice cooks: garlic, chipotle pepper, green onions, avocado. Shred some chicken too.

3. Heat oil in large skillet (very large, even a big pot would work). Add garlic, chipotle pepper, adobo sauce, chili powder, cumin, and cayenne pepper. Stir around for ~1 minute.

4. Add pinto bean, black beans, shredded chicken, and water.

5. Bring to a simmer. Reduce heat and let cook for ~8 minutes. Mash beans around. (During this time go ahead and throw some tortillas in the microwave to get them warm.)

6. Stir in rice and salsa. Remove from heat.

7. Burritos assemble: tortilla, rice/bean mixture, sour cream, avocado, green onions, shredded cheese. Wrap it up and enjoy!

The tinfoil was Aaron’s idea. He decided he wanted to eat his “Moe’s style.” And it turned out great. No burrito filling spilling out anywhere. What a genius! 🙂

So the original recipe didn’t say how many servings this was supposed to make, but let’s just say it makes a LOT. I actually thought I had made a mistake somewhere. I was all afraid I put in too much rice, but the rice to beans ratio was perfect. This recipe lasted through dinner and a couple lunches and made a total of 8 burritos. All in all it was a success!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes