Daily Archives: May 27, 2012

Bookish Little Girl

While I was visiting my family I decided to raid my nieces’ bookshelf. I heard my sister say she was planning on getting rid of the old books she, my other sister, and I read when we were growing up. So I decided to take a little walk down memory lane.

Some of these are newer books that my nieces’ bought, but most of them were mine when I was little. A lot of mine must have been donated over the years, because I had way more than what is on their shelves. I was a VERY bookish little girl. I would go to the public library and check out a stack of books  taller than I was for summer reading.

This was one of my absolute favorite books.

Just as Long as We’re Together by Judy Blume

Can you tell this one got a lot of love?

I also loved all of the Amber Brown books.

Amber Brown is Not a Crayon by Paula Danziger

And of course the Ramona books! I love them all, but this cover captures the most memorable scene from that book- when she squirted giant tube of toothpaste into the sink.

Ramona and Her Mother by Beverly Cleary

(Now for some reason I am remembering another book I read where the main character was writing a book report on Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary…and she got a bad grade because she wrote the authors last name as ClearLy. I don’t remember what book it was though)

And I loved this book!

Sideways Stories from Wayside School by Louis Sachar

The school was accidentally built “sideways,” so instead of being a one story building with 36 rooms (? i forget the number), it was 36 stories tall with one room on each story. And then each (of the 36) chapters of the book is a different crazy/funny story.

Then there was the Sleepover Friends series.

The New Kate by Susan Saunders

I remember taking this book to the doctor’s office when I was sick. My doctor saw it and said something about how the two girls look like sweet little girls…and the other one looks like trouble, and I need to be like the two little sweet girls. Funny memories.

And I was just about obsessed with ballet when I was little, so if a book had anything to do with ballet on the cover I was all about it. I’ve been judging books by their covers since 1995.

Ellen Tebbits by Beverly Cleary, Teacher’s Pet by Francine Pascal,

The Sisters Impossible by James David Landis

Just looking at these book covers puts me in nostalgia overload!

Here is a book that I did not get around to reading when I was little.

The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare

My sister had checked this out at her library for the kids, but she said it was really good. So while I was there I decided to read it for myself…and it was so good. It’s about 200ish pages, but it’s a quick read because it’s meant for younger readers. I don’t care what age it was meant for, though. The story was great! A little bit of history. A little love triangle. It kept me intrigued.

Let me know if you loved any of these books when you were younger.

5 Comments

Filed under Books