Tuna-Mac

Ok guys. I’m a little embarrassed to post this recipe. Something about tuna and macaroni just screams Roseanne to me or something. But take my word for it-it’s delish!

Oh, and it’s a one pot dinner. Not a lotta dishes, holla!

I created this recipe all on my own last week sometime when Aaron and I had almost nothing to cook and were too lazy and poor to go out and get something. We had tuna fish. We had macaroni noodles. So I borrowed a page from Tim Gunn’s book and “made it work.”

Ingredients

1 cup whole wheat macaroni noodles

1 can tuna (I use chicken of the sea solid white in water)

3 green onions chopped

2 roma tomatoes diced

1/4 cup ricotta cheese (part skim milk)

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

1 slice American cheese (or a “single” of whatever. I think I actually used a smoked cheddar one)

1 tbs light mayo (no judgement zone)

salt and pepper to taste

Tony Chachere’s seasoning to taste

Directions

Boil pasta according to package directions in a large pot. Drain excess water.

While pasta is cooking chop onions and tomatoes. Then add all ingredients to the drained pasta. Mix well over low-med heat until all the cheese is melted.

Eat!

I would in no way call this recipe “healthy” (I mean come on. I used mayonaise and 3 different kinds of cheese), but it’s really not that bad calorie-wise if you just eat one portion. This whole recipe makes 4 servings, with each serving being about 233 calories.

I’d still recommend eating something green on the side…like broccoli. Yeah. Broccoli will cancel out that mayo.

And if it’s any indication of how good this is, Aaron has requested this two times since I first made it…which was last week. Do the math. We’ve had this three times in a week and a half. Tuna mac. It’s classy stuff.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Tuna-Mac

  1. Pingback: Pesto Pasta | housegirlhaley

Leave a Reply

