Cheesy Biscuits and Tomato Soup

Bisquick has ruined me. Now every time I go to write or type “biscuits, ” I end up spelling it “bisquits” and then staring at it because it looks so weird. And if you are wondering why I am typing “biscuits” so much it is because of this fabulous recipe I have for you today. Let me explain:

*true text message conversations

Haley: What do you want for dinner? Cheesy bisquits or filet mignon?

Aaron: CHEESY BISCUITS!

Haley: Cheesy biscuits or ice cream sundaes with chocolate sauce and cookie dough?

Aaron: CHEESY BISCUITS!

Haley: Hamburgers or Pizza?

Aaron: CHEESY BISCUITS!

(and yes that “Q” up there happens all the time)

These cheesy biscuits are delicious. I found the original recipe on Pinterest from here and they are JUST LIKE the biscuits from Red Lobster.

I broke out the giant glittery pink heart platter because I love them so much.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups of buttermilk biscuit mix (I was talking about Bisquick, but I actually use Pioneer. lol)

1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (I recommend sharp cheddar)

1/2 cup milk (probably more)

2 tbsp butter

3/4 tsp garlic salt

oregano

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375. Spray pan with nonstick spray.

2. Mix together biscuit mix, cheese, and milk to make a thick sticky dough (Add milk if 1/2 cup is not enough to mix it all together. I always have to add a little more.)

3. Drop 12 lumps of dough on cookie sheet.

4. Bake for 10 minutes.

5. While baking, melt butter in microwave. Add garlic salt to butter.

6. After 10 minutes, take out bicuits and brush with butter mixture. Then sprinkle oregano over biscuits.

7. Bake for 5 minutes at 375 degrees, then 5 minutes at 350 degrees. Transfer to plate as soon as they are out of the oven so the pan doesn’t keep cooking them.

I guess my oven is hotter because I had to downgrade the temperature (from 400 to 375 degrees). I just went with the weird baking instructions from the original recipe because they worked. Sooooo good. We like to eat them with a little salad…

Salad: spinach, cucumber, green onions, tomato

and some tomato soup…

See, we even break out the fine china for the soup…

I recommend breaking up a biscuit and mixing it in the soup. Or just dipping. Either way there needs to be soup to biscuit contact. They are a match made in heaven.

If you want to have this whole meal, just chop veggies and cook soup while the biscuits are baking.

And to get the full experience, you must watch this video as you are eating them. I loved this song when I was a kid.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

