Crock Pot Taco Chili

Today I have a very unseasonable dish for you, but oh well. I don’t play by the rules.

You know when the weather starts warming up, to say, hmmm…100 degrees? You can be a crazy person like me and make a nice big pot of cold weather comfort food. (At least this is a crockpot recipe, so your oven isn’t heating up your whole house).

I love chili and can eat it anytime, so I decided to make some crock pot taco chili. I found the original recipe on skinnytaste, and it is really good. The original calls for chicken, but I omit that because I like to use my chili in a ton of different dishes. If I want some chicken in it, I can always add some of the shredded chicken I keep on hand in the fridge.

Crock Pot Taco Chili

Ingredients

1 small onion (chopped)

16 oz can black beans

16 oz can kidney beans

8 oz can tomato sauce

~10 oz frozen whole kernel corn

2 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatos with chilis (original rotel)

1 packet of taco seasoning (Taco Bell brand all the way!)

1 packet of chili seasoning (Chili-o all the way)

cumin (a couple shakes)

 

Directions

1. Chop onion

2. Combine all ingredients into slow cooker and cover.

3. Cook on low 8-10 hours or high for 4-6 hours*

4. Stir it up and enjoy!

*Note. I just use these times as guidelines. There is no raw meat in my recipe, so it really doesn’t have to cook for too long. I just like the convenience of letting Aaron start it in the morning, and it’s ready for dinner. Plus letting it hang out in the crock pot for a while lets everything mesh together really well.

Want to mix up the way you eat chili? Here are some of my favorite ways:

1. over sweet potatoes

2. with scrambled eggs

3. chili dogs

4. with brown rice

5. with tortilla chips (this recipe is a TACO chili recipe)

From what I’ve read on blogs about chili, I think the way people eat chili varies by region. My mom always made chili over rice, and apparently this is a southern/cajun-new orleans thing. Maybe?

I had never heard of anyone eating chili over mashed potatoes before, but as soon as I read about chili over sweet potatoes I knew I had to try it. I love sweet potatoes and that is now my favorite way to eat it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

