Balsamic Herb Roasted Veggies & Conecuh Sausage

Aaron and I enjoyed that lovely spread of veggies and sausage up there while watching Back to the Future 2. Don’t stress about the end of the world this year, y’all. Marty McFly has got us covered. He and Doc went to year 2015. It was all good.

As much as I love these movies I’m having a hard time deciding which was/is more fun…watching the movie back in 1985 and thinking about how cool the future is going to be…or watching it in 2012 and realizing the “future” in the movie is only 3 years away.

Oh. Haha. And it always drives me crazy how they just leave his girlfriend on the porch of the house in the bad neighborhood. Some hoodlums just did a drive-by with a few machine guns, but oh she’ll be fine.

Ok. Ok. Here’s what you came for. The Recipe.

Sometimes I just need to get my veggies in. Today was one of those days for me, so I whipped up this meal. It’s great – very veggie heavy, but still delicious. I know I found this recipe from a blog, but I cannot for the life of me remember which one…Whoever it was adapted it from here…and then I adapted it some more.

Balsamic Herb Roasted Veggies & Conecuh Sausage

Ingredients

1/2 package of Conecuh Sausage

2-3 yellow squash (depending on the size)

1 yellow onion

2 bell peppers (whatever color you want)

1 tomato

1 Tbs olive oil

2 Tbs balsamic vinegar

1 tsp dijon/brown mustard

garlic powder (or fresh garlic)

thyme

basil

salt and pepper

*Let me go ahead and confess to you that I don’t really measure anything in this recipe. The first time I made it the recipe called for way too much oil, so now I just make sure everything is lightly coated.

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet (with edges) with foil.

2. Chop all veggies and sausage into ~1 inch pieces. Add to a large mixing boil.

3. Add oil, vinegar, and mustard to bowl.

4. Add a couple shakes of all the spices (I’m so specific aren’t I ? Don’t stress, I never measure and it always turns out tasty.)

5. Mix everything together with a spatula until everything is lightly coated with the oil/vinegar/mustard/herb mixture.

6. Spread onto baking sheet. Cook ~ 30 minutes until edges of veggies begin to brown.

7. Eat

*Bonus step 8. Wash your ONE dirty bowl and foil lined pan because I’m good to you like that. Yay for easiest cleanup ever!

Tonight we ate this alone, but it’s really good over brown rice or quinoa. Some other veggies you can use are zucchini, eggplant, carrots, cabbage…whatever your heart desires. I usually use zucchini, but the grocery store did not have any.

Oh and if you don’t know what conecuh sausage is, bless your heart 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

