Oatmeal & Banana Protein Pancakes

I’ve got making these pancakes down to a science. I used to make them before going to my internship (because they keep me full until lunch). I could bust out these pancakes in less than 10 minutes. Boo-yah.

I found this recipe on Peanut Butter Fingers (one of my favorite blogs). It’s not inspired by hers. It’s the pretty much the same. The only slight alteration I make is adding a little milk. If I don’t, the batter is just too thick, and it won’t pour at all for me. Oh. And I guess I’m going to be giving you the recipe for a single serving – 3 pancakes.

Here we go.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup oatmeal (not cooked)

1/2 banana, broken into pieces

1/4 cup cottage cheese

1 egg white

1 tsp cinnamon

milk, as needed for desired consistency

Directions:

1. Spray skillet with cooking spray and heat to medium heat.

2. Blend all ingredients together with an emersion blender. Add milk to thin batter to desired consistency.

3. Pour/spoon batter onto pan to form 3 pancakes.

4. Cook for ~3 minutes or until pancakes begin to bubble, edges harden, and the bottom looks like this

5. Flip pancakes and let them cook for ~2 more minutes.

6. Drizzle some syrup over them and EAT!

What’s so great about this recipe is how quick it is. It’s 5 minutes prepping and 5 minutes cooking. Clean-up is easy too. I can get most of it done while the pancakes are cooking.

They are more substantial than regular pancakes, so be ready for that. The batter is thicker and the pancakes end up being a little heavier. But they are really good. Like banana bread. MMmmm.

I’ve also made these with some chocolate chips mixed in. Delicious.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

