Apartment Pictures {For Posterity}

Posterity apparently means “for future generations.” That may be the technical definition, but it’s not the way it’s used in my family. All of the women in my family HATE getting their picture taken. With a passion. If you can talk my mom, my aunts, and my grandma into taking a picture they say they will do it “for posterity.” It’s kind of a morbid joke. Like the only reason to take a picture of yourself is because you are going to die someday. Not because it’s fun to have memories while you are alive or anything…:)

Since I am moving out of my apartment {and it’s “dying” in a sense}, I figure I should share some pictures so I can remember what it looked like. “For posterity.” You know, all those future houses that will follow in its footsteps.

Living room.

I know I know. Those lamps sat on the floor for a year. No lightbulbs were ever put in. And the curtain rod is totally uneven.

Kitchen TableThen I realized most of the pictures I had of my apartment are of when I first moved in. I switched bedrooms after a year, so these next pictures are very inaccurate. But hey! It takes me back to when I first moved in.

Kitchen with some really ugly rugs and my roommate’s Hello Kitty toaster.

Bedding. This stayed the same. I love this quilt. (I did get a boxspring though, so my bed wasn’t so awkwardly low to the ground).

My old bedroom. It looks so bare compared to how it was before I started packing. It’s amazing all the stuff you accumulate after living somewhere for 4 years.

My desk. I don’t know what that money was for. Note the sweet tea from Chickfila.

Bathroom. This was right after I moved in. I hadn’t even organized my under the cabinet stuff. It’s just sitting there making me look like a slob.

Closet. Now this is funny. I don’t think I own a single article of clothing in this closet anymore. I slowly gained weight, so none of it fit me anymore. Now that I’ve lost weight, I’m pretty sure I could wear all that stuff if I still had it ( and the fashion sense of a 19 year old).

And I want to take a moment of silence for those brown flats you see to the right there. I loved those shoes and wore them into the ground. I had to throw them away. It was a sad sad day.

Well there you go. I wish I had thought to take pictures of my apartment as it was right before I started packing. I thought I had already taken some, but I guess I confused them with these. Oh well. It was a fun little trip down memory lane for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

