Craftiness: the Chevron painted canvas

Remember that little sneak peek I gave you into my arts and crafts endeavor? Well here is it in all its glorious chevron beautifulness. I am in love.

I stuck with the idea of doing a neutral row and a bright row though. Let me tell you what. This is the hardest part of the whole project: taping.

That first dang row. I tried measuring. No thank you. I decided to just eyeball it and measure here and there every once in a while so it wasn’t too wonky. To heck with perfection! I was very happy with the results.

Before I painted I realized I needed to add the tiny triangle pieces on the bottom (right side of the picture). You can see what I mean on the top (left side of the picture). This was a wonderful moment though. Taping is tedious business!

Here’s my paint line up. (color details further down)

Here are the colors I used for my neutral row.

1. FolkArt Acrylic Paint in Medium Gray

2. Anita’s Acrylic Craft Paint in Taffeta Pink

3. Anita’s Acrylic Craft Paint in Seafoam Green

4. Anita’s Metallic Craft Paint in Silver

5. FolkArt Acrylic Paint in Barn Wood

I started out painting big up-and-down messy stripes. Then I let my nieces and nephews go to town.

They wanted to help, and I couldn’t really say no, could I? I mean the original was apparently done by the woman’s children. Although I will say that even though I had 4 children to use as my slave labor, they did get bored leaving me to do the rest of the work. Maybe my canvas was bigger than the Pinterest one or something? (22 x 28 I believe…I’ll check later and change this if I’m wrong)

The finished first layer:

And now the fun part: peeling off the tape!

Oh my goodness! I was so in love I almost didn’t want to finish…but I persevered.

More taping. But this time it was much easier because I just taped over my already painted chevron stripes.

And then it was time for all my bright colors:

1. Anita’s Acrylic Craft Paint in Lemon Lime

2. Anita’s Acrylic Craft Paint in Hawaii

3. Anita’s Metallic Craft Paint in Classic Gold

4. Anita’s Acrylic Craft Paint in Fuschia

5. Anita’s Acrylic Craft Paint in Blue Water

Again I just started painting in big messy up-and-down motions. The children also helped me with this layer (they were much more excited about the colors. 4-year-old just don’t appreciate colors like barn wood.

And the beautiful complete bright layer:

And of course it was way late at night when I finished this, so I had to wait until morning for the absolute BEST part. Drumroll please….

.

.

.

.

.

Wait. You’ve already seen it because I spoiled it with the first picture of this post. How anticlimactic! Oh well. 🙂

I am in love with it.

5 Comments

Filed under Craftiness, Pinterest

5 responses to “Craftiness: the Chevron painted canvas

  1. Pingback: Mirror, Mirror get on my wall | housegirlhaley

  2. Pingback: Peace, Painting, & Back Porch Blogging {H54F#7} | housegirlhaley

  3. That looks SO awesome!! I’m definitely doing that asap!

  4. Pingback: Picker Sister Failure | housegirlhaley

Leave a Reply

