Oh my Darlin’ Turpentine!

Maybe It’s just because I recently spent a whole lot of time painting all the walls of my house with plain-o water-based latex paint.

Or maybe it’s because I’m stupid.

Either way, learn from my mistakes.

I read all these blog posts for painting furniture saying “use oil-based primer.” “It’s ok to use water-based paint over it.” “Blah blah blah.” Um. Do you know what I forgot? OIL AND WATER DON’T MIX..

I have no excuse. My grandma has let me paint canvases with her oil paints since I was a little girl. I know all about her coffee can of turpentine. I KNOW BETTER.

But that didn’t stop me from cracking open this can of primer and going to town on my desk. I was pretty neat about it. I really only got a little bit on my hands. The funny thing is that I didn’t even figure out my mistake until I was all done and tried to wash my hands in the sink.

“WHY WON’T IT COME OFF MY HANDS!” Then it hit me. I am a silly goose.

Silly goose is a secret code Aaron and I use when he does something really stupid and I want to call him a mean name. Silly goose sounds so nice and cute, but he still gets my drift.

Anyway. My little roller and paintbrush were all oil painted up, so they are pretty much ruined until I soak them in turpentine or just buy some new ones.

As for my hands…I was lucky mi madre was around and knows things. Gasoline! She helped me pour gasoline all over my hands to get the paint off, and I took a nice long shower so I didn’t smell like a Shell station.

2 Comments

Filed under Adventures, Craftiness, House

2 responses to “Oh my Darlin’ Turpentine!

  1. this is so funny. I too have had experiences with paint that required gasoline during clean-up time. I feel your pain.

    Also, I adore that you guys call each other silly geese. my guy and I do the same thing.

    I’m a new reader of yours- looking forward to your future posts! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Desk Makeover: The Big Reveal | housegirlhaley

Leave a Reply

