Bad Girl (aka I like big books and I cannot lie)

This is what happens when I force myself to finish reading books that I don’t like.

I go on a books-a-million shopping spree.

Here’s the thing. If you look at my Goodreads widgit thing over there——–> you will see that I’ve been reading a particular book for a very long time now. Part of this is because I’ve started working and I’m usually really tired and fall asleep when I sit down to read.

The other part is that I don’t like the book.

It’s Lolita, okay. Do you know what Lolita is about? I’ll admit I didn’t really before. I just wanted to read it because they allude to it so much in Pretty Little Liars.

I guess I thought it would give me all the secrets about who killed Alison or who A is, but no. All it makes me think is that maybe Ali is alive but just riding around the country with some pedophile. Or maybe she DID have an affair with Spencer’s Dad. Or Aria’s Dad. Or her own dad.

Anyway. While everyone else in the world is reading Fifty Shades of Gray like little perverts, I’m reading this. Ugh. I get it. It’s literature. But I still don’t know why anyone would want to say they LIKE this book.

So I have to finish it just because I started it. I have tons of Goodwill books that I need to read, but I keep saying “No Haley, finish this one now or you never will.”

“If you start another one, you won’t finish this one.”

“Don’t go to Books-a-Million or Barnes and Noble.”

“Books are cheaper on Amazon.”

“Buy a used one later instead. Save some cash.”

“But wait, you’ve wanted to read Redeeming Love for a long time.”

“It’s got Jesus, so it’s ok.”

“You just got your sign on bonus from work.”

“You can splurge on just one book. It’s ok.”

“Oh look, there’s J.K. Rowling’s new book.”

“You need that.”

“Who care’s if it’s $35 dollars? It’s J.K. Rowling.”

“You have to see if it’s secretly about grown up Harry Potter…”

And that’s how I wound up coming home with two giant books. The good news is that my bag weighed about 20 pounds, and it made me not want to walk around shopping for clothes for very long.

5 Comments

Filed under Books

5 responses to “Bad Girl (aka I like big books and I cannot lie)

  1. They ended the last season of pretty little liars revealing who A is… i’m not sure if I should tell you.

    • I saw it! I know what you are talking about! Haha. My jaw hit the floor. But this is Pretty Little Liars we’re talking about. Do you think he’s a double agent…is he really good or really bad? There still has to be more than one person with all those hoodies we saw at the end of that one episode…ugh I don’t know. I miss this show already. I could write multiple posts about it! haha

  2. I won’t judge you for not wanting to finish Lolita if you don’t judge me for reading 50 Shades. Deal?

  3. Matt

    this book is horrible… I have to read it for AP Lit and I don’t want to keep on going… It’s too much!!! This guy is crazy!!!

Leave a Reply

