Downtown Savannah (aka Pigging out with Paula Deen)

Aaron and I recently went to Savannah, Georgia for his cousin’s wedding and we got to spend a little bit of time downtown. It was beautiful!

There were horse and buggies everywhere!

Here’s where we ate lunch. The Lady and Sons. Paula Deen’s restaurant.

If I was a good blogger I would have a picture of my plate, but alas, it disappeared much too quickly.

I’ll give you the rundown of our experience though.

There is a long sad story about the day before that I don’t want to get into, but Aaron and I came to realize we needed to make a reservation to eat here. So we made a reservation for 11:00 on Saturday.

We showed up a little early and had to wait outside for a while. Tons of people were there at 11. The hostess told everyone to go wait across the street. Then this man came out and rang a dinner bell and yelled “Come and get it.” Do they only do that when they first open? I’m not sure.

The hostess called our name and gave us a ticket that showed us which floor of the restaurant we would be eating on. We were on the first floor, so that’s all we got to see. All I remember is crazy wallpaper.

We both decided to go with the lunch buffet: Fried Chicken. Baked Chicken. Barbecue Ribs. Rice. Mashed potatoes. Gravy. Macaroni and Cheese. Green Beans. Black-eyed Peas. Lima Beans. Collard Greens. Sweet Potatoes. Deliciousness.

Servers brought around two bread items: Cheese biscuit (delicious, but Aaron said not as good as mine) and a hoe cake (like a pancake made with cornbread. eaten with syrup.)

After we were done they brought around the desserts and we each got to pick one: Butter cake. Banana Pudding. Peach Cobbler. I went with the Butter Cake (Duh! It’s Paula Deen, y’all). Aaron went with the banana pudding (I was glad because that was my second choice and I wanted to taste it). Let me tell you about that butter cake though…goodness. It was delicious, but SO SO rich. They only give you a tiny piece. Like a 2 x 2 inch square. And I could only eat half of it.

Of everything we ate these were my favorites that I recommend: Fried Chicken, Green Beans, and Hoe Cake with syrup (probably my most favorite).

And the service was pretty good too. I kept joking with Aaron about how often they refilled my tea. You know how some glasses have a line about an inch from the top? The joke was that my tea never went below that line. They kept me topped off! haha.

Look who we bumped into on the way out! Paula Deen herself.


1 Comment

Filed under Adventures

One response to “Downtown Savannah (aka Pigging out with Paula Deen)

  1. What a gorgeous city! It looks like you had a great time!!

Leave a Reply

