These are a few of my favorite things: Christmas Movies

I love having Christmas movies on tv while I’m around the house during the holidays. They just add to the Christmas-y cheer, holiday spirit-y mood. ABC Family’s 25 Days of Christmas is where it’s at. They seriously know what’s going on. When there is nothing else to watch on TV, that’s my default channel in December.

And while most of the time I just use Christmas movies for background noise, there are a select few that are my absolute favorites…ones that make me giddy with excitement when I see they are coming on…ones that I hunt down on the tv schedule and DVR so I can re-watch them when I want. These are my favorites that I feel like I MUST watch every year. Hmm. Should I do a backwards countdown? I don’t know if I can rank them without breaking my heart. It’s like when you’re a little kid and you have to sleep with all your stuffed animals, so that the others don’t feel left out…I’ll try anyway.

6. To Grandmother’s House We Go

Good old Mary-Kate and Ashley up to their usual shenanigans. I love this movie, and I have not seen it yet this year.  It needs to happen.

5. George Balanchine’s The Nutcracker

When I was a little girl, I was obsessed with everything ballet. I owned this movie on VHS (it’s still in my family somewhere, I’m sure) and I watched it year-round.

Reason #1 why this movie is amazing: Mother Ginger. I’ve gone to see a couple of performances of the Nutcracker, and I have been highly disappointed due to lack of Mother Ginger. This is easily the best part of this ballet.

Reason #2 why this movie is amazing: Macaulay Culkin is the Nutcracker. Who knew?

4. Love Actually

I love this movie. There are definitely some story lines I don’t care for, but there are so many good ones, I can easily overlook the bad ones.

“I feel it in my fingers….I feel it in my…TOES!!” haha

I’m a sucker for a good dance scene.

It also doesn’t hurt that British movies have all the same actors, and I can refer to them as their Harry Potter references. Who is in this one? Snape, Fudge, Trelawney. Maybe more.

3. The Christmas List

Let me start out by saying that I’ve loved this movie since I was a little kid. Nostalgia gets me sometime. If you watch this movie today for the first time it will seem super cheesy…and the sets are really bad. But guess what. I don’t care. This movie had me wanting to be a lady that worked at a perfume counter in a department store when I grew up so that I could do “personal fragrances.”

And as cheesy as it is, I still love the premise. A lady makes a Christmas list just for fun, and her friend sticks it in Santa’s mailbox as a joke. Then she magically starts to get everything on her list…complete with the sound of sleigh bells and invisible glowing santa hats appearing on people. Too bad it doesn’t turn out the way she imagined.

This is the movie that I searched for and DVRed this year. It only comes on like once or twice the whole season, and it’s always at really obscure hours in the middle of the night. However, as I was searching for when it was going to air, I stumbled upon a little fan group of people who love this movie as much as I do. So for the other 2 people in the world who have seen this movie and love it as much as I do, here are my two favorite lines.

Young boy: “Because I didn’t want you to know the perfume was for me!” (This is especially hilarious if you don’t know the full context)

Grandma:”Then we’ll make rafia angels.”

Grandchildren: “Mafia angels??!!”

2. Elf

Um. Hello. Who on Earth doesn’t like this movie.

And my absolute favorite Christmas movie…

1. A Christmas Story

I make an effort to watch this movie at least once through from beginning to end every Christmas…and it usually works out since it comes on for 24 hours straight every year. No other movie gives me that warm and cozy Christmas feeling like A Christmas Story.

Yet some people HATE this movie. It breaks my heart. Really it does. I have a theory that people who don’t like this movie have never actually watched it or paid attention to it. It’s not all sugary sweet lovey dovey family time. There are legitimate funny parts. There are curse words and innuendo. It’s hilarious. Ralphie’s imagination scenes get me every time.

“It..it..it twas…SOAP POISONING!!!”

Seriously. It’s the best.

Now I will say there are some “classic” and very well loved Christmas movies that I haven’t seen. I’ve never seen It’s a Wonderful Life or National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. Is that crazy? I think I’m going to try to watch them this year so I’ll know what I’ve been missing.

Are there any other favorite Christmas movies that I forgot about?

sig

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventures, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

