Cresent Roll Sopapilla Cheesecake Semi-failure

I made another Pinterest recipe, Y’all.

This one was a semi-failure. I was cooking at Aaron’s apartment again, and his oven is less than ideal. I blame it for the extra crispy bottom. I also failed to follow the recipe correctly but whatever. It’s only a semi-failure because it still turned out pretty delicious. So delicious, in fact, that Aaron told me to leave it at his apartment when I went back home. Then he called me later in the week to tell me it’s extra delicious served cold.

Let’s get to the recipe. I’ll start out simple and tell you what you are supposed to do, then what I did.

IMG_0759

Ingredients:

2 cans of Pillsbury Butter Crescent Rolls (or Great Value)

2 packages (8 oz) of cream cheese softened

1 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup butter melted

cinnamon & sugar

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Unroll and spread 1 can of crescent rolls on bottom of ungreased pan

3. Mix softened cream cheese, sugar and vanilla together

4. Spread mixture over crescent rolls

5. Unroll and spread the other can of crescent rolls over the top of the mixture

6. Spread butter on top and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar

7. Bake for 20-30 minutes

Enjoy! Eat hot, room temperature, or cold.

So that seems simple, right? Not for me.

Here’s where I went wrong.

IMG_0760

I read somewhere that the best way to prepare the crescent roll dough is to roll it all together into a big ball and then roll it out flat. Easier said than done. Aaron didn’t have a rolling pin, so I used a plastic cup. No matter what I did, the dang dough kept shrinking back up. I wrestled with it forever. I’m pretty sure my frustration with the dough contributed to me messing up the rest of the recipe. I finally got it looking like this.

IMG_0761

Then I mixed cream cheese, sugar, and BUTTER together. W-R-O-N-G. It is supposed to be cream cheese, sugar, and VANILLA. I didn’t realize my mistake until after I had already spread the mixture onto the crescent rolls, so vanilla was just omitted from my version. Oops. There was really no turning back, so I just went with it.

IMG_0762

There was no way I was going to roll out the crescent rolls into one big piece again, so I just pieced it together on top. I melted some more butter to spread on top (since I already used the butter the recipe called for in the filling) and then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top.

IMG_0763

Here’s where I’m going to blame Aaron’s oven. The instructions say to bake for 20-30 minutes. I checked on it at about 11 minutes and it was already starting to burn on the edges. I had to let it cook a little longer (20 minutes total) because it wasn’t done in the middle.

IMG_0764

Not beautiful…:/ When I took it out of the oven, I immediately transferred it from the pan to a cutting board so the bottom wouldn’t continue to burn.

IMG_0765But when I cut into it, it looked pretty good! You can see the “extra crispy” bottom here. Aaron and I were pleasantly surprised when we dug into it! Very good. The filling tasted like cheesecake even with the extra butter. Ha.

For the record, I would totally make this recipe again. I would obviously follow the directions, use the right ingredients, not use Aaron’s oven…and I would probably buy the “sheets” of cresent rolls that they sell at the grocery store.

Anyway. That’s what happened. Here is the link to the original recipe I pinned if you want to see what it’s really supposed to look like 🙂

sig

Leave a comment

Filed under Goals, Pinterest, Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

