Frito and Corn Salad a la Paula Deen, Y’all

I have another Pinterest recipe to share! I made this one for a potluck at work. It’s not going to be healthy, but it’s going to taste good. It’s a Paula Deen recipe, duh!

Here’s what you need.
IMG_0767

Ingredients:

2 (15 oz) cans of whole kernel corn, drained

2 cups grated sharp cheddar cheese

1 cup of mayonnaise (Hello Paula Deen)

1 green pepper, chopped

1 red onion, chopped

1 (10 1/2 oz) bag of crushed Fritos chili cheese corn chips.

I interrupt this post to inform you that as I was typing up that ingredient list from the original blog I pinned, I realized I did not buy chili cheese flavored corn chips. I bought plain-o Fritos. Boring. I’m so disappointed. I bet chili cheese would have added a whole new flavor! Oh well.

Directions:

1. Chop pepper and onion
IMG_0768

2. Drain corn

IMG_0769

3. Add corn to pepper and onion IMG_0770

4. Add cheese

IMG_0771

5. Add mayonnaise and mix it all togetherIMG_0772

6. It should look like this. Go ahead and put it in a pretty serving bowl. Don’t add the Fritos until right before you serve it.

IMG_0778

7. Put Fritos in a ziplock bag

IMG_0773

8. Crush with a rolling pin (or whatever you have)IMG_0774

9. Until it looks like this

IMG_0775

10. Add Fritos when you are ready to serve, and mix it all together

IMG_0777

I actually do not recommend mixing all the Fritos into the rest of the salad unless you know the whole bowl is going to be eaten immediately. The recipe made a lot of the salad…too much for the potluck at work. Normally we leave leftovers in the fridge to be eaten later, but the chips got really soggy and kind of gross. It just didn’t keep well.

I recommend keeping the crushed Fritos to the side and adding to each portion as it’s served. The salad was really good, and I was disappointed that I didn’t get to enjoy any leftovers.

Morals of this recipe story:

1. Chili cheese, not original Fritos

2. Serve Fritos on the side if you want leftoverssig

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

