Roasted Red Pepper and Goat Cheese Alfredo

IMG_0813Things you should know:

1. I have a goal to get through all of my practical Pinterest recipes by the end of the year. I don’t have time to make one twice. I made this twice. It’s that dang good.

2. I feel like a real chef when I make this. I mean, come on. I am legitimately roasting my own red peppers. These aren’t from a jar. Nope I’m a kitchen master. I also use my immersion blender for something other than smoothies. And to top it off it’s actually a really easy recipe.

3. Don’t freak out about the goat cheese, guys. Be cool. It’s good stuff.

Ingredients

2 whole red bell peppers

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup fat free half & half

4 oz garlic and herb goat cheese

2/3 cup grated parmesan cheese

1/2 lb linguine, cooked al dente

salt & pepper

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 500 degrees. (holy moly yes that is hot. I was surprised my oven went that high, but it did)

2. Place peppers on baking sheet and bake 20-30 minutes until peppers are charred.

IMG_0792

3. Remove peppers from oven and cover with foil for 10 minutes.

IMG_0793

4. That’s going to take some time, so go ahead and dice onion and mince garlic

IMG_0794

5. Might as well get your noodles boiling too while you are at it.

IMG_0795

6. Saute garlic and onions in olive oil for about 7 minutes or until softIMG_0797 IMG_0798

7. Add in half & half, goat cheese, and salt & pepper. Stir to melt goat cheese, and keep warm over low heat.
IMG_0801

(I was worried about finding the right kind of goat cheese, but I used this from Publix…exactly what the recipe called for).IMG_0799

8. Uncover pepper, peel off skin, remove stems and seeds. Chop up peppers.

IMG_0802

9. Place peppers in sauce.

IMG_0803

10. Add parmesan cheese. IMG_0806(The original recipe made a big deal about using fancy parmesan cheese. This is as fancy as I get. See. It says “fancy” on the bag.)IMG_080411. Pour sauce in a food processor or use immersion blender to pureed sauce. If you use non-stick pots and pans, don’t be dumb like I was and use the immersion blender in the pot. It will make a scrape in the non-stick coating and ruin your pot. 😦
IMG_0808

12. Puree until it gets to the level of smoothness you want in your sauce.

IMG_0810

13. Add noodles and top with extra parmesan cheese and parsley.

IMG_0813

14. Devour the deliciousness.

IMG_0814

Thanks for reading. I found the original recipe for this pasta from here.

sig

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

